Cobb Wind Symphony

Formed in September 1999, the Cobb Wind Symphony is comprised of adult musicians from all over the Atlanta area. CWS was created to provide a musical outlet for musicians of Cobb County and the Atlanta area and to further the development of band music. Members benefit from the positive musical experiences brought about by music making in the spirit of camaraderie, and from the opportunity to serve the community through a lifelong love of music with concerts in local schools and outdoor venues. The band rehearses twice a month on Sundays in the Lassiter High School Band Room in Marietta.

The group has grown from its initial 77 members to over 100, and includes musicians from all professions including education, medicine, law, engineering, management and technology. Brought together by a common love of music, the members of the Cobb Wind Symphony bring a unique sound to the metro Atlanta area. The popularity and reputation have grown in the metro Atlanta area in the past decade; the wait-list for new members is now nearly 150. The charter committee and current board include many Lassiter High School Band alumni and past students of Alfred Watkins.

The Cobb Wind Symphony has performed :

- 2005, 2007, and 2010 Georgia Music Educators Convention

- 2003 and 2011 Midwest Clinic

- 2006 and 2008 NBA/CBDNA Conventions

- University of Georgia's JanFest (2010)

The Cobb Wind Symphony performed its first “run- out" concert in the community on December 9, 2000 at Phipps Plaza in Atlanta and most recently in Marietta Square for the Fourth of July since 2003. The annual concert schedule includes a December concert at an area high school, Children's Concert, June concerts held locally, and a July Fourth concert.

Previous guest conductors and soloists include David Gregory, Gary Markham, Mark Camphouse, David Holsinger, Rick Clary, Otis Murphy, Chris Martin, Colin Williams, Cecil Welch, the late Fred Mills and Harry Begian.

In 2009, the Cobb Wind Symphony earned the prestigious  Sudler Silver Scroll Award,  which recognizes community bands that demonstrated particularly high standards of excellence in concert activities over a period of several  of years, and played a significant and leading role in the cultural and musical environment in their respective communities.